Greetings and happy Friday!

Your partnership with Free Wheelchair Mission does more than lift someone off the ground, it literally transforms their lives and those of their caregivers. This week I want to share with you a story of a woman in Vietnam who expressed her sincere gratitude for her new wheelchair:

Ms. Nguyen Thi Le was born in 1958. Due to impacts of herbal pesticides used in rural areas of Vietnam, Ms. Le was born with leg deformities making it impossible for her to walk. She lives with her parents and sells vegetables to help contribute to the household income. Due to her parent’s eager means, Ms. Le’s parents have often borrowed money to cover expenses, specifically medical bills for their daughter. Never owning her own wheelchair, Ms. Le’s parents have sometimes rented a wheelchair for their daughter’s use to get to and from market. At the equivalent of 47 cents per month, this is a financial burden on the family that can only occur under special circumstances.

 The gift of FWM wheelchair will make a large impact in the Le family. Not only will they not have to rent a wheelchair, but now she will also be able to work more days in the marketplace selling her vegetables. When asked what she thought about receiving a new wheelchair, moved to tears she said, “Amazingly, the wheelchair is like my new legs. I have always dreamt of being able to walk around like other people. I always want to integrate with others. I’ve tried my best to make others think I’m not [disabled]. This wheelchair will help to realize my dream. I can work more to help my mother and myself. I’m so grateful to the [supporters] who care about people of the same situations as mine. I hope they will continue their work to provide support to other [disabled] people so that they can have a better life.”

Thank you for lifting burdens that are tremendously heavy for recipients around the world like Ms. Le. We are so proud of her determination and her sense of self in knowing she is capable of supporting her family with her new gift.

Blessings,

Don

Leave a Reply

