Greetings and happy Friday Monday!

Last week we told you the story of Mike in Gabon and how a wheelchair had impacted his life. We received an amazing email from Viola, a supporter of ours in British Columbia, who was especially touched by Mike’s story. She told us about her own experience and why FWM was so important to her and we were so inspired and humbled that we wanted to share some of her words with you:

[Mike’s] story was most meaningful to me.  I live in Canada, and I contracted polio at age 22 when I was six months pregnant.  The baby arrived okay, but except for my arms and upper body, I was paralysed.  I spent 9 months in the hospital: several weeks before I was discharged, I was allowed to use a wheelchair.  What a wonderful day that was!  My husband wheeled me up and down through the hospital corridors.  I could see places again, rather than being confined to one room.  As time went on, I was able to get a newer model wheelchair, thanks to the Rotary Club, and throughout the ensuing 65 years, I have had the freedom a wheelchair gives.  The point of my message is:  in many countries, no one thinks twice about getting a wheelchair.  They are available in abundance.  But when we read your missives on giving wheelchairs to those who have had to struggle for years crawling around – my heart is deeply touched.  Keep up the good work! I pray for the wonderful work you are doing.  God bless you.

 –          Viola P., British Columbia

081213

I cannot tell you how much it brightens our staff’s day when we receive a message like Viola’s telling us about how much being a part of FWM’s work means to them. Without all of you—people who make gifts of time or money, or simply offer their prayers—our mission could not be carried out. Thank you, Viola, for sharing your story with us. And thank you for your support.

Blessings,

Don Schoendorfer

Leave a Reply

